• SUPERGLOSS

Why SUPERGLOSS?

UV varnishes that are not suitable for food packaging and even those that are suitable but not processed properly (poor drying, addition of photoinitiators during the production process, etc.) represent a major risk with regard to foodstuff contamination due to migration. The production process is fraught with more dangers than drying using IR lamps. UV varnishes contain photoinitiators that migrate; you only have to think of 4-methylbenzophenone, even in, for example, a PE film. It is due to ITX and 4-methylbenzophenone that we have looked for an alternative food-safe procedure and Supergloss finally emerged.

SUPERGLOSS is:
A unique procedure with a combination of the right choice of dispersion varnishes suitable for foodstuffs and the best production process in order to apply these coatings in large/larger quantities. With this procedure, we can obtain a very high gloss with 90 gloss points on both GC and GD cardboard types. In order to achieve a good result, various high-gloss dispersion varnishes were tested on all kinds of cardboard types as part of various print tests.


• These dispersion varnishes do not contain any photoinitiators that may migrate. Supergloss is a water-based varnish and a water-based coating that is harmless to the environment. Supergloss does not contain any harmful phthalates or heavy metals.
• Supergloss has low taste or odour transfer.
• Supergloss can be applied onto both secondary and primary packaging and can even come in direct contact with foodstuffs if there is no printing present below the Supergloss varnish (for both dry and greasy foodstuffs). With Supergloss, you do not have to worry whether the inner bag or the film around the packaged foodstuffs forms an effective barrier - a barrier is not necessary.
• This is a price advantage compared to UV varnish and you also obtain a food-safe procedure with similar results.
• Supergloss's final results also produce a very good result with more tricky processing such as blind printing: UV varnishes form a hard layer on the printing that tends to break quickly with more tricky blind printing. Even the "breaking groove" phenomenon with UV is not an issue with the Supergloss procedure.
• Productions with UV-varnished boxes cause problems on our gluing line and also with the filling machines due to the "boxes slipping". This causes difficulties with packing and lower production speeds - this is prevented with Supergloss.
• Supergloss is less sensitive than UV varnish as far as fingerprints are concerned.
• Supergloss is a low-migration varnish.
• Supergloss varnishes comply with the EC 1935/2004 legislation and the 2002/72/EC plastics directive.
• Very good raw material traceability is ensured by our production process with Supergloss and also at our suppliers.
• Drying process monitoring is very important for food-safe packaging; this occurs at close intervals during printing. Supergloss is entirely food-safe in combination with our low-migration and low-odour inks and on the correct substrate.
• Supergloss offers you the possibility of implementing your corporate policy regarding food safety on your packaging

• SUPERGLOSS

Pourquoi SUPERGLOSS?

Les vernis UV qui ne sont pas adéquats pour des emballages alimentaires, et même ceux qui sont adéquats mais qui ne sont pas utilisés correctement (mauvais séchage, ajout d'un photo-initiateur pendant le processus de production...) représentent un danger important pour la contamination par migration des denrées alimentaires. Le processus de production présente davantage de dangers que le séchage avec des lampes IR. Les vernis UV contiennent des photo-initiateurs comme le 4-méthylbenzophénone qui peuvent migrer, même à travers une feuille de PE par ex. C'est à la suite des cas d'ITX et de 4-méthylbenzophénone que nous avons cherché un autre procédé offrant une sécurité alimentaire, pour finalement arriver au Supergloss.

SUPERGLOSS est:

Un procédé unique combinant le choix adéquat de laques de dispersion aptes à être utilisées pour des emballages alimentaires et le meilleur procédé de production pour appliquer ces laques en (plus) grandes quantités. Ce procédé permet d'obtenir une brillance très élevée de 90 points de brillance tant sur le carton GC que GD. Pour arriver à un bon résultat, plusieurs laques de dispersion à haute brillance ont été testées sur toutes sortes de carton et ce lors de différents tests d'impression.

*Ces laques de dispersion ne contiennent aucun photo-initiateur pouvant migrer.  Supergloss est une laque et un revêtement écologiquement inoffensif à base d'eau. *Supergloss ne contient aucun phtalate ou métal lourd nocif.Supergloss offre un transfert réduit de goût et d'odeur.

*Supergloss s'utilise tant sur un emballage secondaire que primaire et peut même entrer en contact direct avec des aliments s'il n'y a pas d'impression sous la laque Supergloss (tant des aliments secs que gras). Avec Supergloss, vous ne devez pas vous soucier de savoir si la poche intérieure ou le film entourant les aliments emballés forme une barrière efficace, vous n'avez pas besoin de barrière.

*Supergloss est pécuniairement plus avantageux que le vernis UV et offre en outre un procédé sûr pour les aliments et aux résultats similaires.

*Les résultats finaux de Supergloss lors de finitions plus difficiles comme l'impression en relief sont très bons: les vernis UV forment une couche dure sur l'impression qui a vite tendance à se casser en cas d'impressions en relief difficiles. Le phénomène de « stries cassantes » est également inexistant avec le procédé Supergloss.

*Sur notre station de colle et nos remplisseuses, les productions avec des boîtes au vernis UV engendrent des problèmes de « glissement de boîtes » provoquant des difficultés lors de l'emballage et à des vitesses de production réduites, problèmes qui sont évités avec Supergloss.Supergloss est moins sensible aux empreintes digitales que le vernis UV.

*Supergloss est une laque à faible migration.

*Les laques Supergloss répondent à la législation CE 1935/2004 et à la directive sur les plastiques 2002/72/CE.

*Notre processus de production avec Supergloss et notre fournisseur offrent une très bonne traçabilité des matières premières.

*Pour un emballage offrant une bonne sécurité alimentaire, le contrôle du processus de séchage est très important et se déroule minutieusement pendant l'impression. Combiné à nos encres à faible migration et sans odeur et utilisé sur le bon substrat, Supergloss offre une sécurité alimentaire absolue.

*Supergloss vous offre la possibilité de poursuivre la philosophie de votre société en matière de sécurité alimentaire jusque dans la production de vos emballages.